Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-08 - 0:46

Go around, I'm doing good

So, what is there to report for today? Work. I got out of bed at 11:00, ate a huge pancake (Maneesh makes them just like my brother John does--the diameter of the pan and super thick), dinked around on the guitar briefly, and went to work.

Nine hours later, I made it home. Blah. Actually, I didn't mind it, though. It was like being back in school again--grinding away at some code into the night, taking a 10 minute break for food (at least I work at the company's big location, which has a Subway open 24 hours a day), and getting back at it. Everything came together very well.

I don't usually walk away from work with a feeling of triumph; but that's what I had tonight when I made my last changes and everything worked. I left feeling great, with Rage Against the Machine on the headphones. (It's still a drag that the Rage concert was cancelled . . . listening to that disc tonight, I felt the urge to be slamming into bodies in a mosh.)

BBA was back at work the yesterday. He still remembers my line from one of my old work terms, when I told him that I'd be happy to be locked in a dungeon, coding away. I always meant that as an exaggeration; but there is something to it. I enjoyed being in there tonight, doing my thing, with only a couple of the guys around. Put on some music and get at it . . . I can live with that.

After work, Flett gave me a lift home. I might go over to see him and Jaclyn tomorrow. I'm still not sure what my plans are, though. I don't think that I'll be working, although you never know. My only definite plan was to not work on Monday, since Jian will be back in town. I think that I got enough done at work today, though, that I can forget about it 'til Tuesday.

So, yeah, I could've reduced this entry to "I ate a big pancake and went to work."

J.

[prev] -107- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]