Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-19 - 1:39

Rock the body

Back once again. So, the big news to report on, of course, is the Moby concert. As is my usual system lately, I'll leave my formal review on the other sites. If you're interested, follow either the Tomes link or the Jambalaya link and checka-check it out. (It's probably one of my better reviews, so go read it :) Heh.)

Since the show was in Montreal, getting there was again part of the fun. I got out of work a little early and Aaron, Adeline, Liam, and I drove up in the afternoon. After a car ride and a conversation that was curiously focused on prostitution, we hit the city.

After we all had dinner downtown, Adeline left with a friend (disregard the last sentence of the previous paragraph) and the rest of us made our way to the club. The one drawback this time was that Colin couldn't make it; but I managed to unload my extra ticket. I would have preferred to give it away to somebody who actually wanted to see the show, rather than sell it to a scalper who was hoping to turn around and sell it for more; but we were running a little late.

As for the concert itself, I've captured how impressed I was in my review. I would add that "Porcelian" was a particularly amazing song to hear. I just put the fact that there was a crowd around me out of my mind and let the song affect me as it has since I first heard it, with the amplified emotion of a live performance.

The majority of the concert was dancey; and it was good to get in the mix again. In the last segment of the concert, I was hampered by the people around me. I guess that the girl in front of me must have been going camping right after the show, judging by the backpack she had on. What's up with that? I fly with less luggage. Grumble.

In any event, the concert was excellent and we all had a great time. We took some pictures after the concert and I put a few of them up on Jambalaya. As you can see, my best look comes after I pull out the ponytail and spend a few hours bobbing my head in a hot, sweaty crowd.

For the third time this year, I found myself making my way home around midnight after a trip to Montreal. It was cool talking to Aaron on the way back. Everybody was still in a good mood from the show. I have a lot of positive associations with the road between Montreal and Ottawa . . . every time that I'm on it, it's because I just got through an amazing time (Rollins, the Chilis, Moby).

So, life is going well lately. Liam ended up changing his plans and he's here until Saturday. It'd be nice if work was slower now, so I could hook off early while he's here. Ah well. He and Aaron are catching a Sens game tomorrow, while I'll be at the Misfits gig.

I heard from Greg, who saw the Misfits in Fredericton; and it sounds like it'll be fun. It's going to be cool to get in a solid mosh after being with more of a dance crowd last night.

One spectacular concert down, one to follow that should also be a blast; and work is supposed to return to normal by the end of this week . . . not too shabby :)

J.

[prev] -113- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]