Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-24 - 0:03

Snap decisions

So, Liam is done staying here, work is (apparently) quieting down, the concert blitz is over: life is returning to normal around here. Well . . . assuming that you call having a roommate who puts molasses in his hair normal.

The rest of the weekend (after work on Saturday) and today were spent mainly chilling out around the house. I'm glad that I have the digital camera around for times as odd as Sunday, when Maneesh thought he could get his hair to start dreading with the proper application of sugar water and molasses! Everybody got a kick out of that one; and it was amusing to see that today he buzzed the sides of his hair.

We're almost in competition now to see how can look freakier, as you may be able to see. If I can find the hair dye that I want before Hallowe'en, I'm blasting my mop on the 30th and going to work with the ponytail straight up, as I have it in that picture. Heheheh.

I need to do something before Maneesh's next party. Apparently, everybody who was at the April party remembers me as the guy with the scary/freaky goatee. Since I've modified that look, I need to carve a new legacy. Hmmm . . .

It was fun relaxing for the last two days, hanging out with the crew. My only complaint lately is that it's been way too long since I've seen Jian, although that fact was essentially unavoidable. I'd have no objection to making up for lost time, though.

Now that Aaron has agreed to sell me his recently-assembled second computer, I've been making greater use of the digital camera and playing around with the web page more frequently. Over the last few days, I feel like I've had more of a pictorial journal on Jambalaya and on my hard drive than I've had a written journal here.

Having this computer will also be a bonus for making the journal updates. It'll be better than trying to schedule my thoughts to come out at a time when a computer was free (although Aaron has always been really good about letting me mooch his computer late at night, anyway.)

Hey, I just checked my e-mail and it looks like my boy Liam will be making his way to Cali for work. That's pretty sweet! Selfishly, it'd be cooler if he was here; but I'm definitely happy for him. If Big T and Mandeep are California bound, and given that Classy Joe and Tayze are already there, I'm 99% certain to take a vacation in Cali next year. So, I already have something to look forward to . . . and hopefully it means escaping the Ottawa winter for a week or two.

I'm not too surprised by Liam's news, although it was a quick decision, since he didn't know his plans on Saturday afternoon.

So, the lesson for today's entry: snap decisions are the way to go! Sure, sometimes you'll end up with a cup of molasses on your head; but other times you'll find yourself on a plane for California. (I hope you appreciated that line, because it's as quotable as I get.)

Personally, I like to make quick decisions from time to time, as well. I guess that my New York trip was my best moment of spontaneity this year. "Hmm . . . should I find somewhere today that I can buy a plane ticket to New York for tomorrow, so that I can see Einst�rzende Neubauten? Hell, I'd be a fool not to!"

Of course, that wasn't a life changing decision like flying to the opposite corner of the continent to start a new job or marrying a girl you've known for six months. However, if you worry that you take the easy road and seek the comfort of the routine too often, you have to take credit for whatever spontaneity you have.

So, maybe one of these days, I'll have some huge news on this journal for something that came together on a quick decision. (If I were a gambling man, though, the smart money would not be on a surprise marriage.)

J.

[prev] -115- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]