Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-12-16 - 4:45

The jam session was awesome

J buys a suit (AKA a man clearly outside of his element)

Store Employee: Can I help you with something?
J: Uh, yeah, I need a suit, basic, black, simple.
SE: We have two black suits here; but we don't have this one in stock in your size now.
J: Okay, the other one looks good.

(Try on, accept.)

SE: Are you looking for a shirt and tie, too?
J: Yes.
SE: Here are a couple of choices. This one will look good with a white shirt, blah blah blah.
J: Okay, the first one looks good.

SE: Do you need dress socks?
J: Yeah.
SE: Okay, we have these here. You can get three for such-and-such a price. These ones are good because blah blah blah.
J: I'll just get one pair . . . yeah, those ones are fine.
SE: Do you need anything else? A belt?
J: Uhh . . . yeah, a belt. I guess I need the smallest waist size you have.
SE: Okay, there's this one.

(It fits.)

J: Sure, I'll take that one.

Yeah, I'll just take the first of everything I see . . . hit it and quit it. Man, I hate shopping for clothes. Even though the suit deal was as painless as possible, I still hate clothes shopping. Now I remember why the only T-shirts I have, I picked up at concerts. Of course, I suppose that's why I ended up with absolutely no dress clothes, anyway.

So, what necessitated this shopping? My boy Flett called me up Thursday night and told me that he's getting married . . . on Saturday! Advance warning, baby (heheh).

That should be cool. Just a small ceremony performed by a Justice of the Peace. It'll be good to see. Although the timing surprised me, the marriage itself was sure to happen. Colin and Jaclyn have been together forever; they're two of the nicest, coolest people I know; and they're great for each other. I'm really happy for them.

Actually, the wedding is in less than seven hours, so I should probably be getting some sleep or something. Instead, I didn't get back home until 4:00 . . . I was too busy having fun.

Since it was Tim's last day at work, he, Don, and I planned to go out in the afternoon to do something. Don ended up staying home today, but I did meet up with Tim; and I had a blast. Tim, his girlfriend, and I went out for supper; and then we spent the rest of the night chilling at his place.

After a while, a couple of Tim's other friends came over. I'm not sure how lively I usually am with three complete strangers and one person I know a little. However, considering that we had three guitars out, plus bongos, and one other drum (whose proper name escapes me), it's easy to see why I had fun.

I was a little shy at first, since I was certainly the least accomplished guitarist in the mix; but once I found a way to contribute, I loved it. We were at it for hours, making music, talking, joking around, and relaxing. If I actually lived around there, I know I could progress so much faster with my guitar. I learned more tonight than I have in weeks.

It was also great to be around those kind of easy-going, musician-type people. They reminded me of a lot of the people that each of my brothers hangs out with. For whatever reason, I never seem to know many people like that. I guess that it's because most of the people I know, I know from school or work; and it's largely a different personality type in those environments. In any event, I find that I can usually get along well with people like that; and they're usually a lot of fun.

If I could get together for a cool jam like that even once a week, I'd be a happy man. (And maybe eventually I'd come a little bit closer to holding my own . . . and I stress the word eventually.)

Anyway, life is good . . . I'll have more to say on the wedding in my next entry, I'm sure.

J.

[prev] -151- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]