Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-04-28 - 1:37

The emperor will be pleased

I noticed Ladytron and Takako Minekawa in Playboy's list of top five college radio bands you've never heard. It's always good to see TM get some notice, although the article title obviously doesn't apply universally. (I could point out that they missed Recubed in their discography, and Chat Chat, although the latter is only available as an import.) In any event, I'm sure that Emperor Norton is happy.

And yes, I really am such a music geek that I can't even check out Playboy without being distracted by the music articles. Their Nick Cave interview was funny, too. So there :P

Let's see . . . what's new today? A few more CDs arrived; but I didn't have the chance to listen to them yet. I also got my order from 2.13.61. Unfortunately, they sold out of the Rollins spoken word DVD; but they're shipping it whenever it is available, at no extra cost, and they threw in a couple of free stickers. All of the books that I ordered came: Nick Cave's first collection of writing, two earlier works by Bill Shields, and Alan Vega's interesting looking Cripple Nation.

Most of those books are short, so I'll probably go through them fairly quickly. I'll just need to have the time to absorb them properly. I expect the Shields books, The Southeast Asian Book of the Dead and Lifetaker to be as intense as the other book that I read by him, so I'll make sure that I have time to take each in one go, when I'm in the right mood.

Apart from the arrivals, not much was up today. Did some work, fired up the barbecue with music going in the backyard, cleaned up a bit. Oh yeah, I should mention the other arrival. Aaron came back from Houston late tonight. I was going to go say hi; but by the time I got downstairs, his light was already going out. I'm sure that we'll get something on the go tomorrow, though, since this weekend will be the last time that the current four roomies are together.

J.

[prev] -225- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]