Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-28 - 3:37

I wish I had a monkey's paw

So, I caught up with the Toronto trip, diarywise, although I still need to add pictures and a concert review to my home page. I'm still behind on what's been going on the rest of this week, though. Actually, it all boils down to one event: the Ottawa Linux Symposium. The boss, Greg, and I have all been attending the conference and having a good time.

After three and a half hours of sleep on Wednesday, I went in for my first day at OLS. I managed to survive the day fairly well. The talks that I went to were fairly interesting and the reception at night was cool. I hear that last year there was a party every night, but I guess that times are leaner now.

Thursday, we spent another full day at the show, where I discovered that I'm blind. I was sitting about five rows back when I mentioned that the people in charge should be able to get the projector in focus. When Greg and Nick both looked at me and said, "Uh . . . it is in focus," I realized that I was in trouble. It looks like it's time to join the other four-fifths of my family and buy some glasses.

The rest of the day went fine; and we brought a few people to our office. I felt too zonked to contribute to what they were working on; but it seemed interesting. Afterwards, I went out for supper with Greg and Kelly.

Today, my lack of sleep caught up with me. My alarm didn't go off (it's time for a new alarm clock, as well as a pair of glasses) and I ended up oversleeping and missing the first talk. The remainder of the day was more interesting than the other days, since there were more networking talks (something for which I can actually follow along).

After eating supper downtown, I made it home before 10:00 for the first time this week. Actually, today was the first time that I saw Ray since before I left for Toronto. I put the extra time afforded by my early arrival to good use: tonight was hair dye time again. I went a bit sillier this time. I used Lilac for most of my hair, with my leftover Green Envy on my bangs, and Wildfire in my goatee. I think that it came out quite interesting.

Unfortunately, I have no picture of the final product yet (maybe tomorrow), but I do have a picture of the highlight of OLS . . . the code monkey:

OLS wraps up tomorrow, with a party downtown at night. The whole event is more or less a geek party; and, while I don't consider myself much of a geek or much of a partyer, it has been fun so far.

If I hope to not oversleep tomorrow, though, I had better go to bed nowish.

J.

[prev] -284- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]