Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-31 - 1:24

Self-imposed workload

My journalling is getting slacker and slacker lately. Actually, I sometimes feel that keeping up with my two web pages is more of a chore than an enjoyable activity. As in: oh no! I have to write my Ozzfest review while it's fresh in my mind; ah! I still need to get my Toronto pictures online and now I have all these OLS pictures; and if I'm going to dye my hair like that, I need to let people see. And of course, I don't want to neglect this journal.

It's silly, since I'm really keeping these sites for me. (I realize that the world is not holding its breath awaiting my latest batch of goofy pictures.) I just want to maintain as I have been and when a lot happens at once, it's tougher to keep up.

So, OLS wrapped up fine. My tricolour dye job attracted some attention, of course. You know that I love that. I also wore my Einst�rzende Neubauten T-shirt to see if one of the German guys would pick up on it, and Andi did. After the last presentation, I joined in with Greg in helping the guys clean up the Congress Centre. Boxing everything up and loading it onto pallets was like working at the airport again . . . except with boxes of computers instead of lobster.

I came back downtown at night with Greg and Kelly for the end-of-OLS party. Free alcohol . . . drunk geeks . . . oh my. Of course, I passed on the alcohol, but I had a fun time, nonetheless. It was cool to see most of the crew from the past few days one last time before most of them left the country.

Sunday, I made up for four days in Toronto followed by four days of OLS by sleeping for close to 12 hours. That didn't leave time for a lot of excitement. The rest of the day was mostly just a barbecue attempt that failed when the propane ran out.

I did sneak in a phone call home. The folks sounded semi-eager for me to make a trip home, which I was already considering, so today I booked my flight for the long weekend. I ended up paying double what I did the last time I flew home, which was while Canjet was still independent. Ah well. It'll definitely be cool to see home again.

Today was the first normal day in quite some time: a standard day at work (maybe a little long, but close enough) and a second stab at the barbecue. I did some work on the home page issues that I mentioned before; but all that I really added was one new picture. The rest is almost in place, though.

Now if this ridiculously persistent cough, which kicked into high gear tonight, goes away, I'll be a happy man.

Home again in four days . . . life is good.

J.

[prev] -285- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]