Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-08-10 - 2:19

Hell is round the corner

I think that in the past week or two, I've been in the hottest sustained temperatures that I've ever dealt with. Where's that ocean when I need it?

Actually, though, I don't find it so bad. I think that I've just gotten used to it. Two summers ago, I had a harder time taking it. Everybody around here is saying they hate it and they'll never complain about winter again. Not me. I can deal with this; but expect to hear me start whining by January. I'll take the heat wave over last summer's rain-out.

It's turning into an interesting time for music. The new Rollins Band CD is out in a couple of weeks, and Bj�rk is out the week after that. The fall sees new discs from Leonard Cohen, Ozzy Osbourne, the International Noise Conspiracy, and Bad Religion. (Yes, I have eclectic tastes.)

And then there are the tours. My big news is that I decided to check out Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds twice: I added the Sunday Toronto show (Sept. 30) to my Monday Montreal plan. Now I'm flying to Toronto for the weekend, chilling with Richard, catching the concert with him, flying back to Ottawa Monday morning, working a shortened day, getting a drive to Montreal for that concert, and getting a drive back afterwards. It should be interesting. Oh, and depending on the concert start time, I might catch Godspeed You Black Emperor! on Friday night.

And theeennnn, exactly one week after Cave is in Toronto, Bj�rk has her turn in the city. I'm almost certain that I'll be checking out that concert, as well. Too cool!

Plus, I'll be sure to see Rollins somewhere along his current tour, and Emperor Norton continues to claim that Ladytron will be through North America in the fall, and the Misfits are kicking again, and maybe I'll finally get to catch a Bad Religion show, and . . .

So, yes . . . as I said, it's an interesting time musically. It should be fun.

J.

[prev] -289- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]