Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-08-30 - 2:00

Shake hands with the Slash-Co

The boss got back from his trip to Boston today. Apparently, his demo went well, although he had to overcome a few snags. He said specifically that if Greg and I hadn't stayed late on Friday and figured something out, he might have been screwed. By the sounds of things, I would've had no clue how to do 95% of what he did to overcome the problems; but it was still very cool to hear that what I did helped.

Overall, work is going well lately. Even after a couple of months, the office is still new enough that a few side issues come up while I'm trying to get real work done. Those distractions are far less frequent now, though, so when they do arise, I see them as a good break in the day.

Tonight turned out to be moving time. One of the elevators is busted in Frankie's building, so he decided to move most of his things in to our place early. I didn't get home in time to help him load the van; but I know that unloading went fast with four people helping, even including the time required for the great TV swap.

Frank's TV took the main spot in the living room, which bumped my TV into Nick's room, which bumped the small TV back downstairs, which bumped the old Commodore monitor (alive and kicking since the early 80s) back into Aaron's room. Yeah, we have two TVs in the living room, just so we can play Gran Turismo 3 with the link cable. (It happens once in a while, I guess.)

It's silly how much video equipment there is here for people who watch practically no TV. I'm not even sure if I've connected my N64 this year. Since somebody stole the two games that I was actually still playing, it has gone to waste. Maybe if Colin and Jaclyn ever pop over sometime, I'll dig out Tetris again. (Jaclyn was starting to beat me sometimes when she was crashing here.)

Oh--I just had my excitement for the day. Ray heard some kids outside slashing tires (his window faces the street), so we popped outside. Ray called the cops on them, but I'd guess that they got away. If they had gotten either Ray's car or Aaron's, maybe it would have been time to put the hockey stick to good use. (Although I've heard that that kind of response is frowned upon.) As it is, a police officer showed up very quickly and she has made the rounds a few times as I've been typing this.

Bah. Slashing tires . . . there's an intelligent way to display your rebellion against the world. Punk's not dead, right? Remind me again why I have a low opinion of humanity as a whole.

J.

[prev] -306- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]