Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-12-09 - 3:11

There is no such thing as love

Friday went according to plan: I picked up my plane ticket after work, then made my way downtown to see The Dears, who (of course) kicked ass.

Aaron, Loralei, and Anatoli came to the show with me. I hadn't met Anatoli before, but he turned out to be a really fun guy to hang out with: very good natured, with a good sense of humour, and several concert stories at the ready. The four of us had fun hanging out at Zaphod's.

Of course, as The Dears took the stage, I had to be front and centre. For once, I actually have a concert review written before hitting Diaryland, so you can see the details at the usual sources: on my home page, at this page in particular; or on the Tomes.

If you somehow read this journal and don't have the inclination to read concert reviews (wow, are you ever in the wrong place), the condensed version is that I had a great time. I even had the band notice me personally . . . and that was before I really started acting up.

Oh yes, nobody outgoons me at a concert. You can be assured that I was front and centre, flailing away, presumably providing amusement for those around me. Oddly, almost noone came anywhere near me this time. (Heh.) I had a nice radius for hopping around and being silly. The only drawback was that the floor was so sticky, I didn't really want to hop too much, so I mostly settled for keeping my feet planted, but still getting into it.

So, The Dears were there usual amazing selves and I had an awesome time. To some extent, I had my mind elsewhere before the show, and it was definitely true afterwards. If I would've written in here last night, I might had more to say about that. Now, though, I've put those thoughts aside and I'm just thinking back to how much fun I had at the show.

If I can't see an amazing concert and have my mind shut down all else but the music, something is wrong . . . and nothing has ever been that wrong for me.

And that's the better thought to come back to tonight.

J.

[prev] -372- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]