Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-12-16 - 14:53

Schmitz

Apparently, yesterday was my day for being heckled. First, when I was buying Mach 3 blades, the cashier motioned to my goatee and said, "I hope you're using them to get rid of that ridiculous thing." She seemed nonplussed when I told her that they were for shaving my head.

The rest of the heckling came at the hockey game last night. I've never gone to a game here and actually cheered for Ottawa; and with the Devils in town, there was no doubt who I'd be hoping for. As it turned out, Greg, Kelly, and I had seats in front of a few very mouthy women who were cheering for the Sens, so (naturally) I had to antagonize them.

Mouthing off to the fans is a requirement, although I believe that last night was the first time that anyone acted as if they were going to kick me in the head. It was certainly one of my better outings.

As for the game itself, it was rather flat, especially for the first two periods. The Devils looked really sloppy; and, while Ottawa wasn't much better, at least they got a few shots. The only goal came on a weak shot from the blue line by Sykora. I thought that it might have deflected off the defenceman, who was standing with his stick in front of the shot.

The third period was more entertaining, and I was happy with the 2-0 final score. It wasn't a great game, but it was fun to watch, especially since I got in my mouthing off and escaped without a boot to the head.

Yesterday went fairly quickly, since I worked for most of the afternoon, leaving just in time to grab supper and get to the game. Afterwards, a week's worth of sleep dep caught up to me, and I crashed early for a change.

After a slow motion effort at getting up this morning, I'm back at work, trying to take care of a few things. I'm certainly looking forward to wrapping this project up this week and heading for home on Sunday.

J.

[prev] -376- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]