Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-12-14 - 2:10

Winding down

In retrospect, perhaps it was a bit optimistic to believe that people would want to hit Chicago in March for the Rollins Band shows. On the other hand, Aaron considers the trip a possibility and there's still time to see if anyone else gains enthusiasm or the means to realistically make it happen.

Work is very busy lately, although I'm enjoying it more. Everything is progressing a lot better now. Considering how much of a struggle I have found parts of this project (rarely is any of it as simple as I hope it to be), it's good to see its end approaching. I have been putting in some extra hours (I went back in for a couple of hours after supper last night); but those really only make up for being unproductive when things weren't going as well.

I did manage to restrict my hours to a normal day today, leaving a shade after 6:00. I made sure to not get hooked in, because: (a) I was zonked after yesterday; and (b) I thought that it would be a good idea to get out for supper with all of the roomies. Since Aaron and Nick are heading for the Island on Saturday, and some people have plans for tomorrow night, this was the last chance to get out together before Christmas. Loralei joined the four of us for what turned out to be the kind of nice, relaxing night that is much appreciated after some frazzled days of working.

It's odd to think that Christmas is so close, mainly because it has not at all been wintry in Ottawa lately. I only took out my winter jacket last night, because I was walking around after midnight. Even then, it wasn't cold. Actually, I stayed outside for a few extra minutes in the slight rain, enjoying the nighttime quiet.

I've always enjoyed the feeling of a city at night, when it is almost devoid of people. (Perhaps that reaction is simply a reflection of my less-than-positive opinion of people.) Even though I'm not really living in the city now, I can still get a sense of that vibe here in the late hours.

Weather notwithstanding, it is December, and I am on the countdown now. I definitely have something to keep me very busy at work; but by the end of next week, it'll be wrapped up and I'll be getting ready to fly home. That trip will be a very welcome break.

The only non-work blip before my flight home is the hockey game on Saturday night. One of my favourite teams since the early 1990s, the Devils, is in town; so, hopefully, I'll be fighting with the home crowd. The newly-engaged Greg and Kelly are joining me for that one; and it should be another fun night out.

J.

[prev] -375- [prev]

[View or add comments (0)]