Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-01-16 - 3:27

Buck up, princess

Today was one of those extra long days that I put in at work on rare occasion. As in, I walked in sometime after 10:00 AM and walked home sometime after 11:00 PM. I didn't mind sticking around, although it is somewhat of a burn-out. At least we had ordered in for lunch, so I had some leftovers for supper. (Hmm . . . I hope that the boss doesn't get the idea that I'll do that every night if there's food there. Heh.)

I always got a kick out of the old job, since my current boss and the other two senior guys were all workaholics. I found it amusing that they were amazed that someone would work a normal day and go home after eight hours. Actually, I think that the only argument that I ever got in with one of the guys was over that topic. My thought was that any company making billions of dollars a year could spring for another employee, if they legitimately had more work than one person could do.

One of the few things I dislike about the high tech market is the attitude that exists about hours. I remember Jaclyn's friend Angela saying something to the effect that I must be a really hardcore worker, since I was working Canada Day when she was visiting two summers ago and again some other weekend when she was around. The other guys from the old job, though, always gave the impression that they thought I was a slacker. Perspective is an interesting concept.

My self-perception lies somewhere in the middle. I work about as hard as ever which is about as hard as I ever desire to work. I can be slow but I'm also good, so people can take that or leave it. If it's not good enough, we'll say it's time to sell everything and hit the jungle. Heh.

On a separate note, do other people have people randomly scream (largely incoherent) comments at them from passing cars? 'Cause I've had it twice this week. I don't even have the mohawk anymore, so I'm not sure what's so attention-grabbing. Perhaps it's just that I'm walking at late hours. People should leave me in the little world that I have for myself, walking through the snow with Illogic on the headphones.

I finally picked up some new CDs: a pair of Illogic discs, DJ Abilities, and older Atmosphere and Josh Martinez. I gave those a go at work today, as well. I'm really liking the newer Illogic release and the other discs are solid, too. (And I'm not just saying that because Josh has a song called "Nova Scotia Baby!") They aren't quite Lucy Ford or First Born quality; but they're solid.

Hmm . . . it's another 3:00 AM entry; but at least this one is only partially attributable to Dark Age. I had a really fun, productive (as much as a game can be productive) go at Dark Age last night, with an unusually capable group; but I only hopped on for a brief stint tonight.

Of course, it was hard to find too much time for anything tonight. The smart money is that tomorrow will be a shorter day at work, though.

J.

[prev] -390- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]