Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-01-31 - 2:19

Air compressor/mouth solo

The great plan of shifting my schedule this week has been a decided flop. Oddly enough, I had no trouble pulling my bedtime back from 3:00 AM; but the whole getting-up-earlier-the-next-morning side of the equation is lacking. Ah well. At least I'm better rested.

Not too much has been on the go. Work is reasonably busy; but not to the point of stress. I called home the other day for the first time since I got back from visiting at Christmas. Perhaps I had gotten my fill? Nah, actually, it's always good to hear what's up with the folks . . . even if my mother does tell me to "grow some hair and get a girlfriend." Heheh. (She's not really like that--or at least she usually holds back from verbalizing it--so it was amusing.)

Today saw the arrival of my latest CD order, so I have lots to go through. The first title to hit the stereo was Einst�rzende Neubauten's Strategies Against Architecture III, which I have been very keen on hearing for a while now. It's high praise that out of a dozen new CDs, it was a compilation that had me most interested. Then again, with only half a dozen songs on the two disc set representing standard album versions of the tracks, it is much more of a fan's package than a greatest hits set. (Not that one would expect otherwise with Neubauten.) The lavish packaging is also very cool. At the very least, I've now seen some neat ways to incorporate the EN logo into a tattoo.

The other disc to really catch me already is Foetus' Nail. Wow! What an amazingly bold, yet surprisingly successful album. That disc covers a huge range of styles, with a fantastic sense of sheer attitude holding it all together. I'll definitely have that one up for repeated listens.

With another ten or so new CDs to occupy me, I should be content for some time to come.

J.

[prev] -396- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]