Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-05-05 - 3:02

Warm and sunny days

Not only am I miles behind on my concert reviews, the journal is slipping away, as well. Let's see . . .

So, the week of work went quite well. I actually managed to leave fairly early three days out of five. Dr. J and Greg left for California on Saturday, so Friday was the inevitable late day of making sure that everything was set for them. As a rarity, though, there was no real last-minute panic before this trip; and it was a pretty fun week, overall.

Thursday, Laurie and I got together for supper and a movie. I picked the Korea Garden for dinner, which I hadn't been to in a while, but which was every bit as great as I remembered. Laurie had suggested the movie, All the Real Girls, which I very much enjoyed.

Actually, the more that I've thought about it, the more that I have appreciated the film. It was very realistic and touching--not just characters moving through plot devices. In both its prime focus and many subtle touches, the movie worked perfectly for me.

In not atypical form, I stayed up ridiculously late on Friday (as I made it to bed, the sun wasn't quite up, but it was brightening outside), which would have been more reasonable had I not been planning to get up semi-early on Saturday. (I have to mooch a ride to the grocery store when I can, and that's when Greg and Kelly were going.)

It was definitely a day worth getting up for, though. In the afternoon, I made it over to Gatineau Park for a while with Aaron and Loralei, in what was hopefully the first of many such trips. It's great to get out for a little hike and feel the approach of summer.

Although I forgot the battery for my camera (d'oh!), you can take my word for the fact that the waterfall was looking more impressive than it was last July--no doubt, due to the fact that it had . . . err, water, this time.

By the time that we got back from that trip (including supper), it was almost time for me to head out again, since I was meeting up with Laurie and friends of hers. That was cool. Laurie was extra giddy in anticipation of the much-hyped Bright Eyes concert tonight (one that I missed, I'm afraid), and that enthusiasm was fun to see.

Ahhh. I'm so, so into her and everything is going very well; and I could write tons more but tonight I will just say that I am happy.

Today was another good one: sunny enough to encourage more barbecue action, so I invited Aaron and Loralei over. Really, 'twas all part of my clever ploy to have Loralei put together a garden for me. (What do you mean, it doesn't count as a clever ploy if gardening was her idea to begin with? Well . . . no complaints, either way.)

Good times.

J.

[prev] -607- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]