Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-05-19 - 0:27

It'll be exciting

The Montreal trip was very good. Mr. Malkmus and his band of merry Jicks put on a strong concert: tight playing, solid delivery, goofy interplay between the band members (the drummer was particularly amusing) . . . good stuff. Even apart from the concert, it was definitely a fun weekend.

Laurie and I bussed up around midday on Saturday, which gave us some time to poke around Montreal before the show. Continuing this season's pattern, the weather was perfect this weekend, so it was cool to have time to mosey. I had picked a hotel and got us there; but I otherwise let Laurie lead the way, since she had a restaurant and a CD shop in mind (fine choices both, as it turned out).

After staying in bed as late as could possibly be done while still meeting the check-out time, we stashed our bags at the bus station and did some more wandering around the city, grabbing lunch and popping into a couple of stores. We both ended up buying shoes (I wasn't going to, but the flames were funky); and I also snagged Scrabble, so that I will be prepared to challenge for a rematch at any time. (Vengeance shall be mine! Well . . . maybe.)

As I say, 'twas definitely a fine trip. I'm really glad that Laurie invited me along to the show and that we decided to spend a little extra time in Montreal.

Since I wasn't feeling too unmotivated when I got back, I decided to go ahead with my plan to have a little barbecue here tomorrow. I think that there will be five people showing up, with a couple of maybes possibly being added to the mix. Should be fun, as always.

I tagged along with Aaron and Loralei tonight, making it downtown in time to see the fireworks, which were surprisingly good.

It has definitely been a cool long weekend so far and I expect it to wrap up well tomorrow.

(Hmm . . . yeah, you were right: this journal does tend to be rather positive; but with good cause.)

J.

[prev] -613- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]