Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-05-04 - 00:54:09

Erotic graphomania

Colin arrived yesterday and took off again today for two and a half weeks in the British Isles with Jaclyn. It was definitely cool to see him again. I think that last night I tried to show him all of the 100 or so CDs that I've bought since I got up here. "Okay, you're gonna have to listen to this. I have almost all the Neubaten discs now. And this Roots live CD is amazing. Oh, and you should read these books that I got from 2.13.61." Heheh. I'm sure that he'll check them all out over the summer.

We ended up listening to some Nick Cave discs. I gave Cave's lecture, "The Secret Life of the Love Song" a second listen. I find it astounding. Not only is Cave the greatest songwriter of our time, but he also has an amazing ability to articulate the nature of songwriting. He has a very interesting analysis of the love song and he is simply a tremendous speaker. From Nick Cave, even a lecture is poetry.

I particularly enjoy the section in which Cave discusses erotic graphomania, the compulsive need to write love letters, and notes the insidious binding power of the love letter. "I never trust a woman who writes letters," he says, "because I know that I myself cannot be trusted."

Cave is now number one on my list of artists whom I must see live someday. Speaking of which, tickets go on sale Saturday for the Chili Peppers, STP, and Fishbone for an August date at the Molson Centre. Aaron, Colin, Greg, two of Greg's friends, possibly Nick, hopefully Liam, and I am in on this one. Richard wimped out, though. I can't see why. Ideally, I won't have to pass up the opportunity to see any cool band live. I'm sorry that I missed the Dirty Three a month back; there's no way that I'd miss the Chilis and Fishbone. It'll be especially cool to have so many of us going.

Besides listening to Cave and a number of new CDs (Barry Adamson, Mick Harvey, and other cool tunes), not too much has been on the go. Aaron, Colin, and I went out for supper last night. Ultimately, I think that we could have cooked better steaks ourselves, but what the hell . . . I'm sure we'll get lots of BBQin' happening this summer.

Status report: one roommate back in the fold (although gone for a bit), one more to welcome.

J.

[prev] -8- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]