Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-07-11 - 0:24

Travel plans

Today was another fairly low-key day. We had a meeting at work to talk about the project that I'm on now (COPS). I asked Steve what it meant to say that I would be the guy in charge of COPS after Abder left. It sounds like I'll have a lot to do. I definitely have a lot to learn on the technical side--mostly a lot of details about the coding environment. Also, I'm going to be the contact for anyone outside the group who has a question about COPS.

All in all, it sounds like more responsibility and less being locked in the dungeon to code . . . which I guess is a good thing. I dunno. I'm sure it'll be fine; it's just something new that I'll have to get comfortable with.

I also think that I made up my mind tonight not to go home for a vacation. I still want to take two weeks off in September to go to Banff; and it feels like it'd be too rushed to also take a week in August. I also don't see a lot of sense in going home shortly after that trip, because I already plan on going home for Christmas.

If I stay with this thought, I'll carry a week of vacation time into next year; and I'll have to come up with a cool plan for then. I definitely want to travel outside the country. As a minimum, I wouldn't mind heading to California to visit Tayze and Joe.

I'm starting to get the urge to see a lot of different places. When I was younger, the idea of travel didn't appeal to me; but now that it's actually becoming an option, I think it'd be great to see a little more of the world. There's really nothing holding me back. All I'd have to do is make up my mind and not blow money on material goods instead (which I don't do a lot of now, anyway).

I'll see what happens; but it definitely seems like a good idea for the future.

J.

[prev] -45- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]