Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-08-20 - 17:01

Funk mob

Thanks, Sarah . . . crazappiness loves company . . . or something like that. Anyway, things are cool today.

And the main reason for the better mood is that yesterday kicked ass. Aaron and I (and some company of his) made the trip up to Montreal for the concert: Red Hot Chili Peppers, Stone Temple Pilots, and Fishbone. (Don't get too afraid, yet; I'm leaving the full review off this page. I'll just give a brief wrap-up of the trip instead.)

My illness was mostly gone, although my throat was (and is) still sore. I wasn't able to do as much screaming as usual; but it was still a fun time. After hanging out with Aaron's company for a while, the two of us made our way to the Peel Pub, to hook up with Greg and crew. It's really funny that Greg asked me to meet him there, since it's one of the few places that I know in Montreal. (Aaron, Colin, and I ate there when we went up for the Black Sabbath concert last summer.)

Unfortunately, I think that my sickness made the leap to Colin, since he was out of comission for this trip. However, it worked out all right, since Greg had a friend, Ian, who wanted the extra ticket. (He was obviously very happy to get it.) So, all eight tickets went to good use. In fact, Ian ended up becoming a Fishbone fan, so I can't complain about that turn of events at all.

It was pretty wild having that many people going to the concert. It was fun hanging out at the hotel room that the other crew had, making the pre-concert preparations (sXe). Hopefully, Aaron didn't mind hooking up with that many people he didn't know. Actually, half of them were new to me; but they all seemed cool.

All in all, it was simply a good vibe and a fun time. While we were gathering outside the hotel, another concert-goer saw my Fishbone shirt and burst into laughter-inducing song . . . that about sums up the mood of the whole trip :)

The concert itself was a blast. I think that I'm almost becoming spoiled or jaded. Two years ago, that show would have completely blown me away. As my third concert in as many weeks, though, it was more of a challenge to impress me. However, I definitely had a great time. It was very cool to see bands that I've been into since I was in Junior High; and that I still enjoy. The only real drawback was that the excessive smoke didn't exactly help my sore throat and cough; but what're you gonna do?

If you want to see my full review, check out my Jambalaya page (or check out the Tomes of Knowledge . . . the layout is actually much cooler on that site). I also got around to taking some pictures of me and my guitar, which are also on the Jambalaya site. Check 'em out if you like.

J.

[prev] -76- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]