Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-11-11 - 1:38

A solitary man

Today was fairly relaxing at work. One minor problem came up that was easy to fix. Apart from that, I spent the day tying up a few loose ends. After a fairly busy week at work, that was a good way to ease into the weekend.

I took the roundabout way home, because I wanted to pick up a few CDs. My most notable acquisition was the new Johnny Cash disc, American III: Solitary Man. Somehow I doubt that they see me walking into the record store and think, "Hey, that guy's gonna be picking up Cash." Then again, I think that almost every time that I go there, I grab an eclectic mix.

Solitary Man is excellent . . . well worth the glowing reviews that it has been receiving. It just felt so right to have Cash on the headphones with the rain pouring down in the darkness and a steady stream of headlights reflecting off the water gathering in the street. Definitely a very cool vibe.

The liner notes to Solitary Man reveal a concise, simple testimonial to all that is music. It is awesome to hear Cash take control of one of Nick Cave's many amazing songs, "The Mercy Seat." It is very interesting to hear that track, especially after hearing Cave take on songs that Cash has performed ("Wanted Man," "Long Black Veil").

I've already given the CD three listens since I got home; and I'm loving it. Every song is very well delivered. The title track was a fitting backdrop for an interesting conversation that I had tonight with Jian. ("Don't know that I will . . .")

So, there are no big plans for this weekend. Once again, I think that I'll push back my day off from Monday until sometime later. (Friday, he says with a deserved uncertainty.) Maybe this weekend I should go pick up a plane ticket home for Christmas. That "maybe" is about the full extent of my plans for the next two days, which is fine by me.

J.

[prev] -128- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]