Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-11-13 - 11:03

And all the boards did shrink

So, I ended up taking today off work, anyway . . . just not exactly how I was hoping.

The weekend was pretty straightforward, until a few snags hit. For starters, the washer broke on Saturday. Grumble. That kinda sucks, because I had been procrastinating on doing laundry for a while; so I have quite a backlog. Anyway, the landlord will take care of that (soon, I trust) and I still have a few days of clean clothes left.

Then, just as I was starting to sit down to watch The Simpsons, Maneesh came and got me and showed me the insane amount of water that was leaking all through the basement: hallway, laundry room, bathroom, storage room.

The five of us quickly tried to figure out what was going wrong; and we found out that the hot water tank had a serious leak . . . it kinda makes the lack of a functional washing machine a moot point when you have no hot water.

I happened to notice a sticker on the back of the tank, identifying it as a rental from the gas company, and I found the phone number to call for service. It's kind of odd that I was the one doing that, since I generally hate the telephone; but I have to say that it was the most polite service ever. Yay for the gas company.

So, here I am, staying home so that I can be here when they come to replace the tank. Actually, somebody already showed up; but all he did was note the model and decide that it needed to be replaced. Now I have to wait until this afternoon before they actually come and replace it. I kinda thought that it would be taken care of with the first visit; but what can you do? Hopefully, they'll arrive on the earlier side of their 2:00 to 6:00 range.

This ain't the best way to spend a day off, since I have to stay in the house most of the time. (I guess I have a few free hours, now.) I guess it's okay, though. Jian and I potentially had a plan to meet today (hey, come see me when I'm scuzzy and I haven't showered and I'm down to the last of my clean clothes!); but we'll see what happens there. It was just a maybe; and it's hard to make plans when you're depending on other factors.

Oh, and it sucks that the Ti-Cats lost yesterday!

J.

[prev] -129- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]