Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-01-16 - 1:27

Idle

I'm continuing to enjoy my time off, although I did end my idleness this morning for a seminar with the consulting firm that's supposed to be helping us move to new jobs. That wasn't bad . . . the guy leading it seems to have led an interesting life. Apart from this job, he was an accountant, a couples counselor, a psychoanalyst, an author. Oh yeah, and he beat Gilles Villeneuve five of the six times that he raced him. Pretty cool.

Although I said that this morning's session ended my idleness, I guess that "idleness" isn't the right word. True, I'm not working and I'm sleeping in more than usual; but I've also been having fun. I've practiced my guitar more in the last three days than I did in any three consecutive days while I was working.

I also ripped through most of Bill Shields' book Rosey the Baby Killer and Other Stories. (Yes, I do have about six books on the go now; but I'll finish this one tonight and the Rollins book tomorrow, okay?) Rosey is another book that I picked up because of the 2.13.61 connection; the old web site had an excerpt from it that I found interesting.

The book is a collection of stories delivered in a staccato fashion, two or three to a page. The primary theme is Vietnam and its aftermath. Quite intense and very well written. After this, I think that I'll pick up his older books: Human Shrapnel, The Southeast Asian Book of the Dead, and Lifetaker.

As far as getting back to work goes, I'm honestly in no rush. I have my original plan; and if that goes through, I'll be happy. Apart from that, I don't plan to do a lot for the short term. I may float my resume around to a few places; but I'm not interested in getting chained to this house, stuck setting up interviews. That's not my idea of a break.

I'd rather take some time to relax. Heading down with Don to see Greg, which is one tentative plan, would be a nice start to relaxing. We'll see how it goes. I'll get back to work when I get back to work; and I won't be too stressed in the meantime.

Oh yes, my other news for today was that I got my free blaster from CDNow. Okay, it wasn't quite so free after I paid the shipping and duty; but it was still pretty cheap. It's about the same as what I have in my bedroom now, except for the fact that it's mine and not Colin's; so now I can give that one back.

J.

[prev] -165- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]