Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-05-02 - 1:34

Fifteen points

Summer hit the capital early again this year: 30 degrees on May 1 is nothing I ever had to deal with in Halifax. Not that I'm complaining. My only regret was that I worked a little late, so there were no water gun targets around when I got home. Maybe tomorrow . . .

I did enjoy sitting on the back steps, chilling with the acoustic guitar. I didn't even lose my rhythm when the neighbour two doors down surprised me by chopping down the tree in that back yard. Now I feel like having Colin over for a barbecue/backyard jam, which would be just like last summer, except now I can actually play a little better.

Of course, I shouldn't be talking like summer is here already, when the normal temperature for this time of year is 16. After one day like this, it does feel like it, though. See: since I'm getting the U.S. dollars and the sunshine, I don't even need to follow through on my thoughts of moving to California . . . yet.

I've had a lot of Will Oldham on the go lately. I need to give his new Bonnie "Prince" Billy album a few more listens. So far, out of everything that I've picked up by him, my favourite is still the first CD that I bought, I See a Darkness; although the Palace Music compilation Lost Blues also hits the stereo frequently.

Actually, I gave that another spin tonight while Nikolai and I were playing cards. After he went on about how he's never beaten me at Rummy 500, he edged me out by 15 points. Terrible. Even more terrible, considering that I had made a mistake early in the game that cost me 15 points and I had been hyping it up all the way through. "If I lose by fifteen points . . ." Heheh.

That reminds me, I still have to go back to San Fran to avenge my loss to Tayze. Hmm . . .

Apart from my incipient plots for revenge, I have little planned. My main goal tomorrow is to wrap up at work a little early, so I can enjoy the sunshine.

J.

[prev] -229- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]