Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-05-10 - 1:39

Long walks off short tangents

I did indeed get to work from home today, which was cool. I put together a document covering the testing that I've been doing for the past little while. I've always found that I need to write those kinds of documents at my own pace. After a lot of detailed technical writing, I just need to shake my head.

That's why writing it at home was great. Wake up, work at it for a bit, stop to shower and eat, work at it some more, take a break to play guitar for 15 minutes . . . that's a schedule that I can deal with. Plus my writing comes out a lot better than it does if I force myself to plow through. Pacing is good, when the luxury is there. Actually, I ended up putting off finishing until sometime after midnight.

In the meantime, I was able to get outside on another sunny day. I went to the mall and picked up a plane ticket to go see Aaron in Houston on the Victoria Day long weekend. Of course, it won't be a long weekend for him; but I don't mind the idea of using the Monday to get out on my own. I'm really looking forward to the trip.

In a way, though, I would have preferred to go a week later, so I could catch the Anticon show in Houston (Sole, Alias, Sage Francis, and Josh Martinez); but Aaron plans to come here that weekend instead.

Yes, I am now extremely into the hip hop collective Anticon. I first got into the unit through Buck 65; and I dug a little deeper after following some suggestions from a guy I was talking with via Napster. I'm still confused as to their total output; but I've picked up a compilation CD and discs by Them (Dose One and Jel) and Sole. Very cool.

Dose is amazing. He has a unique delivery and a poetic--sometimes almost spoken word--delivery. It's strange and fascinating music, for sure. I'm also very fond of Slug's contribution to the compilation disc, "Nothing But Sunshine."

Yes, I have a new starting point for musical exploration, so I'm happy. Actually, I'm still in the process of branching out from Takako Minekawa into Cornelius and Buffalo Daughter and related bands, so I'm on a couple of quests.

On my way back from picking up my tickets, I ran into Jaclyn, who I hadn't seen in a while. She invited me over to visit her and Colin on the weekend for a barbecue and she mentioned that Angela might be in town. Hopefully, that all shakes down. If so, I'll have to break out the barbecue sauce that I've been saving since my trip to Banff (which is the same sauce that Jaclyn brought back last summer after her trip to Calgary). Best in the west, baby . . . at least that's what it says on the label.

J.

[prev] -235- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]