Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-09-04 - 0:26

The essence of romance and adventure

I got to Gatineau Park today for a hike with Aaron and Loralei, which I'll take over a Monday at work any week. We spent around four hours going through the woods, ending up on the Mackenzie King Estates, with its nice little garden and out-of-place architecture.

The most fun that I had was taking a brief detour to climb a small cliff. That had me wishing that I was back in Banff again, like I was last September. I'd love to go back and try scrambling up one of the moderately challenging mountains. It'd be cool to try my hand at Rundle. One of my favourite pictures of my brother Jason shows him on his way up Rundle. Maybe he'll want to take a vacation back to his old home someday.

The trip to Gatineau and heading out for supper afterwards took up most of the day. Apart from that, I've just been playing around on my computer with Cat Power on the stereo, reading more Post Office, and taking care of a couple of things around the house. (Oh, and I watched the Chinese version of The Weakest Link, with Frank translating for me. Digital cable is money well spent, I tell you.)

As a bonus, I think that the hiking around has me tired enough to get back to my work schedule. I feel ready to fall asleep as I'm typing. Goodnight.

J.

[prev] -309- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]