Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-02-12 - 1:59

You got no style, Dutch

Yesterday was the standard Sunday get-together at Greg and Kelly's, which was fun, as always. I always get a lot of laughs out of that crew; and supper was kick-ass.

Shortly after I got back home, I wasn't feeling very well again. I've been feeling a bit out of it for a few days now. Actually, I'm okay during the day; but I feel run down very early almost every night, even though I've been going to bed much earlier than ususal.

Winter is making its presence felt lately. I think it was close to twenty below on the walk in to work this morning. Fortunately, my hooded sweatshirt arrived in the mail before I made the walk. Oh yes.

I have discovered the way to avoid the pain of clothes shopping: I buy all my shirts either at concerts or online. For pants, I just wait until my jeans are fraying enough to bother me; and then I just replace them with a new (non-frayed), but otherwise identical, pair. If they actually have my size in, I don't even need to try them on. Socks and underwear, I treat with the infrequent-but-bulk approach. The ideal system is to buy twelve identical pairs of socks at once and throw out all of the old pairs. (Or, if I doubt my likelihood to wash a load of lights every eleven days, I just bump the current socks into a backup role.) 'Tis brilliant, I say. I can exist practically free of clothes shopping.

(As an aside, does buying the Metal Steve shirt, but in hoodie format, qualify as metal or indie? Ehh . . . I'll forgo both camps and only wear it with my "Ooh! Ooh! Can I be punk, too?" pin. Heh.)

Okay, I'll admit it . . . the skull sweater was the highlight of my day. But it was twenty below and my other sweaters were all in the laundry hamper . . . you'd have been happy to see it, too. (What? Okay, yes, it's not a laundry hamper, per se--more of a garbage bag, really. Now quit interrupting.)

Work was not what I was expecting. I planned to work on something different; but I ended up doing some testing to answer a customer question. That was more fun than my original intention, anyway. Oddly enough, I didn't even end up arguing with the boss today, despite my predictions. At least one of us must be getting soft in our old age.

I was also surprised that I managed to leave work in time to get in on Frank's plan to eat out in celebration of Chinese New Year. A lot of the originally intended company ended up being busy; but we still managed to round up six for an enjoyable meal.

Wish for more warm apparel to arrive in the mail tomorrow. I don't actually have anything on order; but it is supposed to be minus twenty again, so I'd take whatever arrived.

J.

[prev] -401- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]