Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-02-17 - 2:36

Dying of a Japanese nuclear bomb

I had no intention of leaving the house today; and it worked out well.

Apart from a general desire to crash, I also wanted to be home to catch the Dears performance on CBC Radio Two. That turned out to be quite cool, as expected. Murray is the worst interview subject in the world; but in a good way. I get a huge laugh out of hearing him dealing with the press. The songs definitely had me remembering all of the Dears concerts that I saw last year. Very cool; but now I can't wait to see them again.

I kept listening to RadioSonic, because they had Kid Koala hosting for an hour. He chose an interesting mix; but the show as a whole was overshadowed by one selection: the Evolution Control Committee, whose track astoundingly paired the vocals for Public Enemy's "By the Time I Get to Arizona" with a Herb Alpert song.

Before the broadcast was over, I was searching for the Evolution Control Committee, when I found It--the greatest MP3 in the history of the world: "Rocked by Rape," which brilliantly compresses seemingly months worth of CBS Evening News broadcasts into a non-stop Dan Rather disaster litany, set atop a shuffled sample of AC/DC's "Back In Black."

You have to hear this to believe it--I haven't laughed so hard in ages. Go to the ECC web site and grab the MP3 (the first on the list). I also wish I could hear "Subliminal," based on its description; but none of the Real Audio files were working when I looked.

Even without ECC, it would have been a good, relaxing day, which I spent mostly hanging out with Nick. Even though there are four of us living here, since everyone is busy with work and having their own things on the go, it's actually fairly rare to just chill out for a night--listen to music, play cards, and relax. It was cool.

Tomorrow should also be fairly low-key. The usual Sunday plan is being skipped this week, so I think it'll be another day for staying in. I have a little something that I told the boss I'd get done; but otherwise, it should be a slack day.

And remember . . . "Fear the hidden Nazis next door."

J.

[prev] -405- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]