Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-02-23 - 2:56

Too much rock and roll

Sometimes, it'd be nice to have more people around here with similar interests. It would have been more intersting watching the Canada-Finland game if somebody else was into hockey (Frankie's five minute stop in the living room, notwithstanding). And, while I'm excited about the Pinback concert coming up in two weeks, I don't think that any of my friends even know who Pinback is.

I was kind of bothered by the fact that I couldn't convince the Sunday crew to adjust our schedule this week to fit in the gold medal game. I dunno. Given how quickly the games go, a short break in the middle of the afternoon should have been doable. I had been planning to catch the 7:00 AM bus back from Toronto after the mid-March Bad Religion concert, so I could keep the usual Sunday noontime plans intact; but I'll probably end up scrapping that idea now.

As it is, I'm sure that I'll enjoy catching the game at home; and Nick even mentioned that he's interested in checking it out. And, as far as the concert front goes, it's not as if I'm always lacking company or anything. Aaron probably caught seven or eight shows with me last year alone.

I guess that the issue is the fact that I think of most of my friends now as having similar personalities to mine; but not always similar interests. More accurately, I miss having someone like Liam or Richard around, since none of my other friends really have that same passion for music. Even doing the mix tape trade at the end of last year had an element of regret to it, as in: why don't you live a couple thousand kilometers closer, so we could sit down and talk music?

Perhaps I'm just restless and unsatisfied and unhappy today . . . those seem to be the moods of choice lately. Although I am definitely seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, in the form of Rollins Band in Chicago. One week from right now, I'll just be coming down after the first of two Rollins concerts, which should be the first great experience of this year.

I listened to the last live Rollins CD the other night, which had me remembering the Montreal concert and getting psyched for the two March shows. I also booked my hotel room recently, which made the trip feel more tangible. I still need to decide what I'm doing during my days in Chicago; but at least I have the three focal points mapped out: airport, bed, and club. The rest of the journey can be determined upon arrival.

Although the fact that the Rollins trip will be a solo one serves to highlight my earlier theme, the lack of company is quite understandable in this case, given that it's an unusual effort. Even alone, though, I have no doubt that two nights of mixing it up in that crowd will be exactly the release that I need.

In the meantime, don't expect to see too much excitement in the journal--well, not that there ever is too much excitement here--since I expect that I'll have little else on my mind between now and Friday.

J.

[prev] -408- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]