Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-02-25 - 2:58

O Canada

This was a pretty decent weekend. Then again, I'm (a) a Canadian, and (b) a hockey fan (if those descriptions aren't redundant), so, of course, I have reason to be happy.

Saturday, I finally picked up my plane ticket, which seemed like something that I should do before the end of the week. While I was out, I decided to pop in to see Colin and Jaclyn and I ended up sticking around all day.

Jaclyn had some relatives visiting and they were really friendly and good for some laughs. We all watched some of the Olympics; and Colin and I got the acoustic guitars out for a bit, which was a lot of fun. We keep saying that we're going to get together with the electrics sometime; but we never actually get around to it. At least he has two acoustics in the house, so when I do pop in, we almost always play those.

It goes without saying that I'm always happy to stick around for one of Jaclyn's suppers, especially when dessert is prominent on the menu. All in all, it was a fun, relaxing day; and it was great to see Marc Gagnon highlighting a great showing for the speed skaters.

Today, I stayed in, waiting for the gold medal game in hockey, with Loralei and sometimes Aaron and Frank. What can I say? If anybody feels the need to email me a pictorial reminder of the finish to these Games in eight years, I won't have to complain as I did for my last such reminder.

It was an exciting game. I thought that Canada sat back a bit too much in the third; but they certainly came through. Brodeur, Sakic, Iginla, Blake . . . Gretzky celebrating in the stands . . . Lemieux skating with the flag . . . very cool. It's great to have a unifying event like that--something after which I can call home and rhetorically ask, "Did you see that?" before sharing the celebration.

So, I guess that I lied when I said that I would have little else on my mind before the Rollins concerts; but Team Canada's first Olympic win in fifty years is definitely more than worthy of breaking through my single-mindedness.

J.

[prev] -409- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]