Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-04-11 - 1:50

So you've decided on an art school

I didn't write last night; but you can guess that I was pleased that the Canadiens wrapped up a playoff spot (no surprise).

In fact, I was feeling inspired today when tickets went on sale, so I bought a package for the whole first round. I now have a fourth row seat for Game 3, and for Games 4 and (if necessary) 6, I have a seat in the third row, almost perfectly centred. Sweet!

So, it looks like I have three trips to Montreal coming up. My biggest question now is what the schedule will be, since the dates have not been determined yet. I'm really hoping that there is no game on the 24th, since that is when Fishbone is playing here, and I'm quite psyched for that show.

If there is . . . hmm . . . I may decide to fly home the weekend before that and catch Fishbone at the Marquee, instead. I'll figure something out.

At any rate, it should be a lot of fun seeing the games in Montreal. I was surprised that I was able to get such great seats after twenty minutes of trying to connect to the web site. The only drawback about the whole affair is that I don't have anyone to go with me, although I'm sure that people will be feeling festive at the games. Hell, if somebody really wanted to go with me, I'd scalp my single ticket and try to buy a pair of seats together.

If the Habs advance to the second round, maybe I'll just pick one game to attend and see if I can find some company. I didn't exactly plan for this package. Montreal only clinched a playoff spot last night and I only realized that tickets were going on sale about fifteen minutes in advance. Even then, my first thought was to pick up a ticket for one game only; but I went with the impulse to get them all.

Not too much else is up lately. Work has been staying very busy, although fairly fun. I keep sleeping in and making it in around 10:30 (well, 11:00 today), and I've been working longish days, so it's fairly late by the time that I leave. Even still, spring is definitely here and the warm weather makes for some pleasant walks between the office and home. (I think that I have now passed my last opportunity to kick snow at Greg while he's taking a smoke break; but that means it's almost time to haul out the Super Soaker.)

Oh yes, I remember what I've been meaning to mention. CBC has made their studio session with The Dears available online, in both video and audio form. The studio environment doesn't produce the same energy as a Dears club show; but it's still a great performance. I love the futility and hopelessness of "Cuz She's a Tourist" . . . a love song, through and through.

Oh yes, speaking of moody love songs, I finished making that mix CD tonight. Actually, I'm not sure if it's as moody as the first. (Melancholia, mon cher.) I'll have to give it a listen from start to finish.

All right, one last bit: even among the journals I read, I'm not the first to add this link; but I have to say that this Onion story is the funniest thing that I've seen in quite some time.

J.

[prev] -437- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]