Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-04-14 - 1:59

Money's too tight for steak

As was proven tonight, the barbecue still works. Mmmm . . . steak. Presumably, that was the first of many barbecues for this year. I just need to start leaving work early enough that I feel like cooking. It's always fun to have all the roomies around for a steak supper.

I stepped out this afternoon to pick up my latest CD order from the post office. (No cute girl working there today; but she was there when I stopped in Friday, so it's not a total loss.) I picked up two Jad Fair discs (one as part of Strobe Talbot and one with Teenage Fanclub) and another Foetus album.

Strobe Talbot is another step in Jad's career of writing: (a) love songs; and (b) songs about Dracula and the Wolfman. He's living the dream. Who knew that you could make a living from "Apples & Strawberries" and the Moods of Elvis? (I must admit, I am rather fond of "Ornery.")

On my CD excursion, I made a slight detour and finally fulfilled last summer's quest: I found the legendary Splashzooka. Okay, the weather isn't quite warm enough for it yet; but when it warms up a little more, I'll be ready.

Maybe I should practice on the squirrels in the meantime . . . hmmm . . .

At any rate, steak, new CDs, and a ridiculously excessive watergun are enough to make me happy. (As ever, I remain a complicated man.)

J.

[prev] -440- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]