Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-06-11 - 3:54

Zack Taylor, ya know he's underground

Tonight's concert was fantastic. With Clouddead, Reaching Quiet, Dose and Boom Bip, Radioinactive, and Labtekwon all on one bill, it was a long, enjoyable night.

The small hip hop shows are the friendliest concerts ever. I recognized a few faces from previous Buck 65 appearances (including the organizer of the Gallery 101 show). It's cool hanging out with people who are sincere and easy-going and very interested in the music.

The Anticon intern, who was manning the merchandise table, was also a cool guy. Eighteen years old . . . what a gig, eh? I hadn't even been to a real concert at that age. By the end of the night, I picked up four CDs from him, along with a fair amount of Anticon gossip.

I also got to shake hands with Dose before the club opened ("Hi, I'm Adam") and congratulate him after the show. He's a very friendly guy.

Okay, a real concert review will follow. It's in the queue along with a Beth Orton recap. Since it's a quarter to four, though, I should wrap up. That's sketchy, even by my standards.

Thank you to those who passed along positive birthday wishes to me. Again, real responses will have to wait until a less extreme hour; but I appreciate the thoughts.

Hopefully, by the time I wake up, Germany will have advanced and France will be history.

J.

[prev] -475- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]