Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-07-08 - 1:41

Big sounds of the drags

It looks like I got slack on my week off and stopped updating. Ah well.

Let's see. I mentioned seeing The Powerpuff Girls Movie with Aaron and Loralei, right? That day turned out to be the end of the heat wave, which was appreciated. It was still plenty hot the rest of the week; but not unbearably so.

It was an odd week off in the sense that, apart from Frank, everyone else in this house is also home during the days lately. Then again, I'll get at least my recommended dose of solitude, starting in about three weeks, when I have my house.

I had put it out of my mind for a while; but since the calendar hit July, I've been getting psyched for the move again. On one of my days off, I met with the mortgage guy and I think that I have all the financial details straightened out.

I suppose that I had better have the money straightened out, since I have only one paycheque between now and my move-in date. Actually, I should have no issues. Hell, I'll even be able to buy myself a bed before I move in . . . luxury! Heh.

I'm trying to think of the most money that I've ever spent in one shot. I can't think of anything much over a thousand dollars. Come to think of it, the fact that through two and a half years of working, my most major purchases were a camera, a guitar, and a pair of speakers says something, doesn't it?

At any rate, between the down payment, the taxes, the lawyer's fees, and all, I think that I'm about to break my spending record by a factor of about twenty-five. As a wise man once said, though, "It's only money."

Notice how I cleverly illustrated my growing house obsession by drifting completely off topic. Err . . . yes. That was it.

So, as for the week off, it wound down very well. Saturday, I went for a very enjoyable hike near Luskville with Aaron and Loralei. That trail was probably my favourite of any that I've been on near here, since it was a bit farther off the beaten path and more of a challenge than some of the other spots we've been. Fewer people and more rocks equals a better hike.

After that, we came home and had a barbecue supper that we ate outside. After the heat blast kept me hiding for a lot of the week, it was great to be able to spend a day mostly outdoors. Today was lazier but still decent; and we topped it off with another barbecue.

All in all, it was a fairly solid week off. I definitely needed a break from work and I managed to take care of a few things here during a rather relaxed week. And now I can start my three-week countdown to home ownership.

Craziness. I think it's time to listen to "The Undoing of a Man" again.

J.

[prev] -487- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]