Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-09-09 - 1:54

Spelunker

Summer has yet to die in this town, as it was another weekend of sunny days well over 30 degrees. Admittedly, I skipped out on the sunshine on Saturday; but it was enjoyable just spending a day at home for a change. Sleep is also good.

Today, though, I did actually take advantage of summer's persistence. First I had to pop in to work for a couple of hours, to get my part of a small project ready for tomorrow. That was quite easy; I just neeeded to straighten out a couple of details.

After that, I got over to Gatineau Park with Aaron and Loralei for another hike. It's good to see that the hikes are still happening after we moved our seperate ways. Before this year, I hadn't realized that the park was so huge; you can come at it from many angles and find something different.

Today's destination of choice was Lusk Caves. I think that I've said this other times; but today's hike was my new favourite trip to Gatineau. The walk back to the Caves was enjoyable, although I was wondering if our late start was going to be a problem. As it turned out, even though it did mean a late supper, the trip to the caves was well worth it, since the caves themselves were very fun.

When we finally made it there, I was wondering what we were in for, especially given the screaming that accompanied the bikini-clad girls exiting the cave. I guess that they were just showboating for attention, though, since the caves aren't too hardcore. There are a couple of semi-tight squeezes and you do end up having to crouch down in a few feet of chilly water. I figure that the latter shouldn't have been half the problem for anyone female, though. At any rate, the route through the caves is fairly short.

It was funny that we kept meeting up with the same family throughout the day. Despite leaving them behind well back of the caves, we all met there, where they were happy to have our flashlight backing them up. After squeezing through behind them, Loralei and I made another trip through the caves, this time carrying a camera. I didn't get too many great pictures; but a few turned out decently.

By the time that we finished the walk back to the car, it was certainly enough exercise for my day. Actually, we were all fairly dead; but everyone stayed awake though supper, at least.

Hopefully, if September continues to behave as if it's the heart of summer, I'll continue to take advantage of the fact.

J.

[prev] -518- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]