Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-01-07 - 2:33

Retard in hallway

It ended up being a rather slack weekend, which was okay after unexpectedly starting work last week. I did get over to Aaron's last night for supper. That was an especially good bonus, considering that it wasn't until today that I picked up any groceries since getting back in town. (Elf needs food badly.)

I also stuck around to watch the gold medal game, which was a decent and entertaining contest, but with the wrong result. Well . . . actually, I think that the Russians played the better game; and if someone else is to win, it should be them. Now I just need to find one of the old Red Army jerseys.

I was looking at IMDB today and noticed that Lydia Lunch did a short movie, The Right Side of My Brain, with Jim Thirlwell (Foetus) and Henry Rollins, under the tagline, "The Sexual Misadventures of a Sexually Insane Girl." This intrigues me.

Poking around at some links from there, I noticed that Nick Zedd was associated with that crew, which explains why he has a book on 2.13.61. Out of all the film descriptions that I browsed through, I think that what I was most impressed by was the fact that in Zedd's Thus Spake Zarathustra, someone named Jon Vomit was able to fill two roles: Retard in hallway and Gothic brat. That's pretty sweet.

It's enough to make me wish I knew anything at all about movies, the way that I at least know something about music. I'm sure that the same concept holds and there is much genius below the surface, but I'll likely continue to miss it.

Anyway, after reading that and also realizing that I'm running low on reading material, I ordered in Zedd's book, as well as a few others from 2.13. They have a crazy sale on some of the books there, which I guess means that they just weren't able to sell certain titles. It's a shame to see them have to put Bill Shields' books of poetry down to two bucks a piece. Those were so hard and intense. I'm still trying to track down his first book; but it's probably a lost cause.

I'll have to pop over to Chapters, which is all of five minutes away, to find something to hold me over in the meantime. If I'm going to hibernate through the winter, as usual, I might as well do it with some solid words.

J.

[prev] -558- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]