Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-01-21 - 2:43

A train leaves Montreal . . .

The work crew had a pot luck get-together on Saturday, which at least meant that I had something to do this weekend. It also presented a good excuse to bake a cake. Living alone has its advantages; but it is somewhat limiting. Unless I'm inviting people over, it's hard to get too carried away with dessert.

Perhaps you have never tried to consume an entire cake yourself. (No, not in one sitting--unless you're a Shanbhag. I just mean finish one before it goes stale.) Anyway, in my experience with such attempts, the last three slices fail to excite.

I've almost 100 percent decided to head to Montreal to see The Roots at the end of the month. I've seen them twice at festivals, where they were given a more limited schedule; and I'm sure that they will destroy in a club (especially considering that the new album is very rockin'). My only concern is that with a late start time, I'll probably be stuck in Montreal for the night, with the Rollins spoken word gig following the next night in Toronto.

Buuuut, I've discovered that there is a four hour and twenty-two minute train from Montreal to Toronto. So, I may see The Roots, spend the night, and make my way from there. That seems to be the most convenient plan, if moderately more expensive than my other options. It'd presumably be more comfortable than squeezing into the back seat of Aaron's car with Nick and Colin (although I'll gladly take that ride home after seeing Hank).

It's going to be quite a gathering in Toronto. If I catch the early train, I'll be able to get there and meet up with Richard before Liam arrives at the airport and before the Ottawa carload makes it to the city. (You don't know anyone who might want to see Rollins and who could arrange to arrive by boat in mid-afternoon, do you? We could use some more complexity.)

Hmm . . . it's fortunate that everyone involved is so good with plans and schedules, elsewise I could see things going awry. Heh. Actually, as long as everyone has their ticket to the show, that should be enough, right? What could go wrong? It's not like the car will get towed with the tickets locked in the glove compartment--that's the kind of fun that you really only need to experience once, I reckon.

Anyway, I think that The Roots are being added to my plan; I just haven't made it official yet.

J.

[prev] -563- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]