Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-01-26 - 2:59

Trial by custard

Work is somewhat excessively busy lately--which, while better than some alternatives, is leaving me rather little time or energy for other pursuits.

I did decide to pick up a PS2 the other day, mainly for the fact that it could serve as my DVD player. Unfortunately, the one that I brought home didn't work. (Damn you, Sorny!) Aaron was generous enough to bail my non-driving ass out, though, giving me a ride to the store, so I could swap to a working machine.

The catalyst for picking up a PS2 now was that I managed to find the DVD collection of Richard Kern's short movies, including the Lydia Lunch titles that I mentioned before (also featuring a very menacing looking Rollins, in his long-haired days).

The movies with Lydia were interesting, which is no surprise, since I'm a big fan of her music and the few spoken word pieces I have by her. The other movies were sketchier, although again, not unexpectedly so. Out of the eight that I've watched so far, I made it through seven without needing to avert my eyes; so that oughta count for something.

I also grabbed Vice City with the system, so I have a new diversion for the nights of staying inside, hiding from the insanely cold weather. Well, that and reading the books from my recently-delivered orders. Anything that involves close proximity to the fireplace is acceptable, really.

Speaking of spending money (or in this case, not), I think that I have reconsidered my Roots trip. In the time that I was debating on that one, the concert sold out, although I'm sure I could still find a ticket from a scalper. I'm just not sure if it's a good time to spend too much money; and between a ticket to the show, a bus trip, a night in a hotel room, and a train trip the next morning, it'd be a fair bit of cash.

Plus, I'm not sure if I'm really still in the mood for the hassle involved, even though it will undoubtedly be a killer set. Ehh. I'm getting soft, I think.

At any rate, returning to the original plan of a road trip with Aaron, Loralei, Nick, and Colin is certainly not a bad fallback position.

J.

[prev] -564- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]