Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-02-13 - 1:27

Spring 2003 unveiled

The Spring 2003 concert season is shaping up to be a fine affair, especially after some announcements made today. People are actually coming to Ottawa!

For starters, Hank has now added Ottawa to his spoken tour, so I'll be able to double dip again, as I did in 2001. I'll see how much churn there is in his set this time.

Next up, The Dears are coming back to the capital, although only as openers for Matthew Good Band. Matt Good is rather obnoxious; but I won't turn down the opportunity to see The Dears again.

Also new on the hit list are the Chili Peppers with Queens of the Stone Age. Admittedly, I'm not the Chili Peppers fan that I once was (as they've grown less interesting); but I'd still enjoy seeing them live again, especially with QotSA.

So, my latest concert schedule is:

  • 02.22 Living Legends w/ Eyedea & Abilities
  • 03.18 Rollins spoken word
  • 03.28 Godspeed You Black Emperor (Toronto)
  • 04.07 The Dears
  • 04.08 Dirty Three (Montreal)
  • 04.15 Yo La Tengo (Montreal)
  • 04.24 Buck 65
  • 05.12 RHCP w/ QotSA

True, Godspeed have finally added some Montreal dates to their tour; but I suspect that I'll probably go with the Toronto plan: take Friday off work and crash at Richard's for the weekend.

Absent from the schedule is the Audioslave show in Toronto, which sold out in minutes. I could go and pick up a ticket from a scalper; buuut, as it turns out, the main line-up for the resurrected Lollapalooza is Jane's Addiction, Audioslave, Incubus, QotSA, and Jurassic 5. So, since I'll surely be headed to that, I'm willing go forgo the earlier Audioslave concert. I don't understand why people fail to see that Incubus is a junk band; but the other four acts make a killer combination.

So, the main attractions are still the Dirty Three and Yo La Tengo concerts; but the time around those dates is filling in quite well. All is good.

J.

[prev] -573- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]