Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-02-23 - 3:33

That ain't MCin'

Admittedly, updates are sparse lately; but today was the first in recent memory to be remarkable.

I snagged my Chili Peppers/QotSA tickets at noon. I slightly misjudged that demand, so ended up not getting floor seats. That could be just as well, though. I think that some of the crew would be at least as happy to be in the lower bowl. When I had floor seats for Tool, I was the only one who got up in the mix; and while the Chilis crowd should be tamer, the principle stands.

After that, Flett and I popped downtown to hit Record Runner. I needed to pick up the new Dirty Three and Cat Power CDs; and I also found out just the other day that there was a new Bonnie "Prince" Billy release. In an uncharacteristic show of restraint, I walked away with only five CDs.

Tonight, of course, was the Living Legends concert. I got together with Aaron and Loralei prior to that and snagged free supper (always a bonus) before we made it to Babylon.

The show was fantastic. The Living Legends set was a big party; and I had a lot of fun despite having to get snarly with a few knuckleheads in the crowd. (Ehh . . . kids.)

Eyedea & Abilities completely stole the show, though, with a long, fierce set. Eyedea's delivery was flawless and Abilities was given ample opportunity to produce the greatest turntablism showcase that I've ever seen. Everytime that I thought that Eyedea was going to let Abilities steal the show out from under him, he turned it on again; and the two were actually a perfect tandem.

Afterwards, I was lucky enough to pick up the last copy of their tour CD and have it autographed by the pair. Abilities even said he liked my Buck 65 shirt. Cool stuff. I also noticed that the merchandise was being sold by the same guy who was around for the Clouddead tour. Not a bad gig, hanging with performers of that calibre.

At any rate, it was more than a little on the late side by the time that the show wrapped up and I stepped out into the apparently revitalized winter (curse the snow!), so I'm more than zonked right now. Perhaps I can fire off a real review after sleep.

J.

[prev] -575- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]