Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-04-07 - 2:06

Go ahead, Buck!

So, Colin and I made it out to see Buck 65 on Friday, which was another excellent show. What else would you expect, though, right? It's always fun to catch Buck again and to say hi after another great show.

My concert wisdom came through for me again. In particular, the middle band validated one of my rules: if the audience is full of pretty people (as the floor was at that time), it's going to be a sketchy show. It's almost a fullproof guideline, although the Bj�rk concert a couple years back was an exception.

I was semi-out-of-it on Saturday, so I missed Buck's stint at Spinables. I know, I know . . . I'm getting soft. I did get together with an ex-roommate contingent that night for supper and a bit of crashing at my place. Nick even made it over to see the house for the first time (and proceeded to whoop my ass at cards).

Today I was even more sluggish, having a headache for most of the day, yet still needing to log in to the machines at work to get some things done. The latest project that I've been on has been semi-stressful; but I'll be sending it out tomorrow.

Hopefully, I'll be more relaxed with that out of the way. I should certainly be enjoying myself, since tomorrow sees The Dears playing an opening slot; and Tuesday is the much-anticipated Dirty Three trip.

The exact plan for the latter will be a last-minute decision. Colin had to take off today for work. In theory, if all goes well, he can get his job done in a day, which means that he'd be back in time to see the Dirty Three. If not, I guess it's another bus trip. I won't be upset for myself if it turns out to be the latter, although I'd feel badly for Flett missing the show.

However it all shakes down, it's sure to be an interesting couple of days.

Oh yes, I've gone on strike against winter, which seems to have forgotten that it's over. I refused to shovel my driveway (on moral grounds, of course); and I even dropped my layer of insulation tonight, shaving my head again and dropping the scruffy beard. Fight the power!

J.

[prev] -595- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]