Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-04-08 - 2:21

This isn't a fucking Slayer concert!

In all honesty, I have to say that tonight's Dears concert was the least impressive of the five times that I have seen them. I'm still definitely glad that I went, especially since I got to hear a set that was almost all new material. And there were stretches when the songs really caught me.

However, the rough acoustics in the Congress Centre, a less-than-perfect sound quality, and an unreceptive crowd conspired to keep The Dears from really taking command, the way that they have in the past. Decent; but not a full Dears experience.

As for Matt Good, I'm not a fan, so there's not a lot to say. I won't trash his performance. He seemed to be putting out a respectable effort, had a good sound, and kept chugging along. I can't say that I felt any connection to the music; but it was an okay showing. I thought that he finished relatively strongly.

So far, I've skipped the most notable fact of the show. Aaron, Loralei, and I lined up a bit later than planned (work was busy); and when we finally got inside, I settled into the first open spot on the floor . . . only to notice that person right in front of me was Laurie. (As in, the fellow Dirty Three fan who is making the Montreal trip with me tomorrow.)

I must say, given the size of the Congress Centre, that was rather unlikely. It was very cool to actually get to meet her and chat a bit in advance of the Montreal excursion.

Speaking of which, I still don't know the exact details of that plan. All I know is that from Richard's description of the band's Toronto show, I'm expecting an absolutely killer concert.

J.

[prev] -596- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]