Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-04-10 - 1:16

Chased or chaste?

Wow. The Dirty Three concert was perfect--definitely the most fun that I've had at a concert in the past half year. Every song was amazing. Warren was as much of a nutcase as I was expecting; Jim White's drumming was spectacular (and fun to watch); and Mick Turner and the band's guest, Zak Sally, while content to stay in the background, were also great.

I really can't have enough positive comments about the show, although I will try my best when I'm feeling awake enough to write a real concert review.

Even apart from the show, it was a very fun trip to Montreal. Colin never made it back from his work trip; so Laurie and I bussed it. It's weird to consider that we had never really had a conversation before a few days ago, had only met by incredible fluke at the Dears concert, and then were off to Montreal yesterday.

I'm very glad that she made the trip with me. I'd say that we got along very well. Being able to share the concert with someone definitely made it an even better experience.

With an opening act (the very enjoyable Quinimine) and a long set by the Dirty Three, we predictably missed the midnight bus; but we crashed at a hotel, got four hours of sleep, and caught the first bus back this morning. (Hence me being too tired to write a real review.)

Actually, as far as that goes, I should wrap up before I become any less coherent. The one-sentence summary is that I'm in a great mood, having seen a perfect concert with a very cool girl. No complaints.

J.

[prev] -597- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]