Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-04-21 - 0:31

God's not much of a cure for a hangover

Whew. Today was barbecue day, which went quite well. The only snag was that Laurie and Stacy weren't able to make it, since Stacy was feeling ill. Alas.

Apart from that, it was all systems go. We couldn't have picked a better day for it; even before people arrived, I was sitting outside, reading in the sun. (The Night Torn Mad with Footsteps has some great pieces.)

If I do say so myself, that was a fine feast: bacon-wrapped scallops for starters; then steaks, kabobs, burgers, and spuds; with brownies and ice cream for dessert. It was fun grilling again, although coordinating meals for nine people kept me busy. Still, you truly can't complain about cooking away in the backyard, hanging out with a great crew, with the living room windows open to let the music out.

The only portion of the proceedings to not go according to plan came when I realized that eating outside would be problematic. The softness of the ground was revealed when Jon sat down in the lawn chair and sank several inches. Upon reflection, I concluded that inside was good. Heheh.

All in all, it was another great time. It might have been cooler if people could have stayed over longer, but the Fredericton folks are headed out of town early tomorrow morning, so that's understandable.

After having worked Good Friday, I'm taking tomorrow off, which should be a good breather. As fun as today was, I won't object to something less busy.

J.

[prev] -601- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]