Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-04-23 - 2:53

Oh, am I!

Another Tuesday, another Montreal concert. I have to say that Jurassic 5 was quite better than I had been expecting. It took them a few songs to hit their stride; but once they got on pace, it was a killer set.

They followed a similar format to when we saw them in New York, breaking fairly early for a DJ showcase. Of course, there were two big differences between the two sets. In New York, after Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist put on their display, the band only had another twenty-five minutes left. Here they had only just begun, with the best part of the long set yet to come.

The other huge difference was the crowd. People were psyched and it completely made the show. Before J5 took the stage, I was annoyed by the excessive number of pushy, inconsiderate people on the floor; but the rude people were very much overshadowed by the fact that so many people were energetic and cool throughout the set.

I found it pretty funny that I bumped into the same guy a few times and he kept grabbing onto me when we were pogoing during the more rockin' songs. I had some girl grab onto the other side of me during the encore, too, so the three of us were hopping around. Too fun.

I must admit, though, I totally ran out of gas and was just hanging in for the last two songs of the night. (My protest was fairly meek the last time that Zaakir asked if the crowd was ready to go home.) I'm out of practice for the hopping and bopping kind of gigs, I guess.

As an added bonus, when we showed up and heard the first act starting to play, I was sure that his voice sounded familiar. It took a few songs, but he introduced one number as something that he had worked on with DJ Vadim and I quickly recognized "It's Obvious" from the Vadim CD I picked up at that show. Coolness. So, I was glad to see Blu Rum 13 live; that very distinctive voice was put to good use.

So, another great show in Montreal--the best sweaty, loud, energetic, jump-around type concert that I've been to in a while.

J.

[prev] -603- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]