Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-11-04 - 2:44

Vs.

The Hallowe'en turnout was about double that of last year. I didn't run out of treats; but I was left with only a few hard candies, some suckers, and a single box of Nerds. Cutting it too fine, considering that the plan is really for me to have lots of leftovers that I feel obliged to handle.

Ah well. At any rate, it was fun to hang out at the house with Laurie and Nick. I have a few Hallowe'en pictures that I need to put online sometime (from my camera and Nick's). I haven't posted any new photos in months. I find time management to be more of an issue lately.

Speaking of which, work is still in super crunch mode. It remains to be determined how things will shake down for the next couple of weeks.

I do know that I'll be busy on my own time. Wednesday night is the Atmosphere show (with Brother Ali and many others). This weekend I am (hopefully) off to Toronto to see Belle and Sebastian. Then, in three consecutive nights starting the 13th, I have a Dears concert, a White Stripes concert (in Montreal), and a hockey game (second row). It should be a good stretch; hopefully, the pace slows down enough at work that I'm not too frazzled to get psyched for the shows.

Oh, speaking of concerts, I caught the CD release party for My Dad vs. Yours, a local instrumental outfit. The CD in question is actually an EP, which made for a rather short performance. All in all, though, it was a solid show.

The band did not seem to lean on the quiet/loud dynamic as much as other instrumental groups; but that may be a product of not being challenged to hold a listener for the duration of a full-length album (or concert). That said, the songs were interesting, containing well-executed shifts in focus.

It also seemed that the band was at its best when a strong drum beat was pushing them through. That observation may be flawed, though, because (a) for a band that I don't know, it's natural for the more rocking numbers to make an impact; and (b) I have a certain bias in favour of the drums. So, I'll have to let the CD soak in before I come to a verdict on that topic.

J.

[prev] -650- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]