Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-11-13 - 1:32

Various zoos

Much has been happening. Last Wednesday was the Atmosphere show, which was quite solid, if somewhat below last year's tour. (It's hard to top a lineup that could afford to leave Murs and Blueprint in supporting roles.) Atmosphere was a lot of fun; but Brother Ali stole the show. Slug seems a bit too laid-back in his approach, at times, which makes for a stark contrast to Ali's defiant intensity.

I got into a bit of a confrontation with a knucklehead during Ali's set. Meh. At concerts, I tend to break my usual stance and actually like people; but it doesn't always work out.

I'm sure that starting a tussle with someone 100 pounds lighter makes one feel noble and heroic, which would mean that it was a rewarding and affirming experience from his perspective. Nonetheless, I must say that I was a little pissed about being shoved aside, especially considering that I had been literally the first person to stake a spot on the floor and had been there for about three hours.

(And no, there was no mosh during this set. Until the main act, it wasn't that kind of show; otherwise, I wouldn't complain.)

That detracted from my enjoyment of the show; but it was a great concert, overall.

Friday, I barely made it out of Ottawa , thanks to some unfortunate work snags; but all was saved for the Toronto weekend.

Once in Toronto, I got to meet Laurie's friend Stacy, who was generous enough to let us crash for a few days. The main reason for the trip was the Belle and Sebastian concert, which Laurie and I saw with Richard. I'm not a knowledgeable fan by any means; but I definitely enjoyed the concert. It was a very fun, laid-back set that was taken in by an eager crowd. I am now more behind on my concert reviews than ever; but someday I will catch up and detail this show.

We stayed in Toronto until Tuesday, with the other notable excursion being a trip to the zoo. I hadn't been to the Toronto Zoo in twenty years, so it was worth another trip. Good stuff.

J.

[prev] -651- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]