Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-09-27 - 22:36

Hot honey tea

Yeah, it's another good mood entry. The last two days weren't too bad at work. I got in a little later than usual yesterday, since I had to make my way from downtown; but I worked until we started playing soccer around 6:00, so it evened out.

It was fun to play soccer again for the first time since I left for Banff. My ball control was even sketchier than usual as a forward; but I made a few good saves playing nets. We have these games down to a standard routine:

  • A few of us, including me, actually show up on time.
  • After ten minutes, enough of the rest of the crew arrives that we can start the game.
  • We play for about an hour before somebody decides to leave. Two or three other people seize the opportunity to split.
  • The rest of us play for half an hour, before Manuel calls, "Okay, one more goal," somebody scores, and we end it.

Surprisingly enough, I'm one of the regulars who never misses a game (excepting vacation and the week that I was sick) and who always stays until the end. Now if only I was any good . . .

From the fun conversations at work department:

Me: Jamal, did you miss me for two weeks?
Jamal: I missed harassing you . . . molesting you. In the meantime, I've been molesting Don.
Me: I don't know if molesting is the word you want.
Jamal: I mean that literally, man! Hahahahahahaha!

No wonder I love it here ;)

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I picked up The Misfits box set. Last night, I found out that they're hitting Barrymore's in Ottawa on their current tour, in October. Sweet! I've had them on heavy rotation in my CD player lately; and I've had the song "Angelfuck" stuck in my head for two days now. I'm definitely looking forward to that concert.

They're also touring to the east coast, so Greg, who got me into the band, will get the chance to see them again; and so will Charlie, who is the one who told me about the new tour dates. Astro-zombies across the land, baby!

I talked to Jian some more yesterday. It was great getting together with her Monday; and hopefully, we can hook up again soon. Her mother is visiting her for a while, so that'll affect the plans; but I'm sure that we'll get something going. I'm still in a great mood that I met her :)

My boy Liam surprised me by starting up his own journal. He put up a couple of kick-ass entries so far and even managed to sneak in what I interpreted as a good dig against part of my life philosophy. Great fun.

Speaking of life philosophy, that reminds me of the unfortunate person who called here yesterday looking for a donation to an anti-drug charity. I didn't really leave him anywhere to go in his spiel when I told him that while I am straight edge and thus supported his own move away from drug abuse, I am also a libertarian and thus feel morally unable to support an anti-drug organization when I believe that the war on drugs is fundamentally misguided, especially when adults are being incarcerated for consensual crimes in a free society. (Yes, it was a run-on sentence when I said it on the phone, too.)

Okay, that's enough bouncing around topics for one entry. I'll go give Jian a call and pop off the computer for the night.

J.

[prev] -98- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]