Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-05 - 1:07

A slow dance with trouble

"Hmm . . . what the hell is this CD I have in my wish list on CDNow? Well . . . I'm sure that I had a reason for putting it there; I may as well buy it." I tell you, one of these days the main CDNow page is going to have my picture on it. I just hope that I didn't buy that CD only because one two-minute song was produced by Kid Congo Powers . . . that seems flimsy, even for me.

It was a CD day all around here. On the way to work, I stopped at the post office and picked up the B�a CD that I got into because of Nick. That was one of my more obscure acquisitions: a Japanese import disc that I had to buy through the U.K. Amazon site.

I actually ordered that disc on the weekend that Nick moved out. The last thing that I did on his computer was listen to his MP3 version of the disc; and I had to have it. B�a and the Supreme Beings of Leisure were Nick's musical contributions to me this summer.

Then, when I got home, the four Yo La Tengo CDs that I ordered had arrived. I must say, the Jad Fair/Yo La Tengo disc Strange But True is one of the more bizarre albums I've ever heard. The YLT music is cool, as always; but the lyrics penned by David Fair are the highlight. Picture 22 songs constructed from unusual newspaper headlines, such as "Helpful Monkey Wallpapers Entire Home," "Retired Grocer Constructs Tiny Mount Rushmore Entirely of Cheese," "Ohio Town Saved from Killer Bees by Hungry Vampire Bats," and my personal favourite, "National Sports Association Hires Retired English Professor to Name New Wrestling Holds."

This album is truly something that you should experience for yourself; although those unfamiliar with YLT would do better to hear some of their other material first.

Continuing the CD trend, when I went downtown to meet up with Jian, I snagged a Jurassic 5 disc and the new Bj�rk. So, I'll have some tunes to listen to at work tomorrow, to say the least.

Not a lot else is on the go. I got a bit of a late start on work; and I walked both ways, so that killed a good chunk of the day. (So it was well over two hours of walking around today . . . gee, I wonder why I'm so damned skinny. Heheh.) Then meeting Jian again (which was cool) took care of most of the night. There is a bit of weirdness going on lately; but I'll save that for another entry.

J.

[prev] -105- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]