Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-30 - 0:26

Micro mini cool

The weekend kept up its positive flow today. I made it in to see Jian for lunch, which was great. Afterwards, I hauled her off to Record Runner. I think that I might have bored her while I was going through all the CDs; but at least I came out with some good finds.

I took a chance on a Takako Minekawa disc, which turned out to be pretty interesting. That's definitely another CD that doesn't fit my usual set. (And that's saying something, because my usual set is pretty unusual.)

I also snagged three of Moby's CDs bundled in a single box set, which was selling for a good price. I love that store. That was where I picked up my Einst�rzende Neubaten video, while Liam was here; and that fact alone proves that the store kicks ass.

We also stopped at a bookstore and I picked up a couple of books, including Pulp by Charles Bukowski. Honestly, I didn't know anything about the book; but I had heard the name Bukowski spoken highly of by a few cool people, so I thought that I'd give it a shot. I started reading it; and I really like the style and pace. I know that I tend to be a rambling writer, so I'm impressed by authors who can move so far in just a few words. It's like hearing a blues guitarist say so much with the right few notes.

Here's an except from the short portion of the book that I've read:

I got lost somehow, began staring at her legs. I was always a leg man. It was the first thing I saw when I was born. But then I was trying to get out. Ever since I have been working in the other direction with pretty lousy luck.
While we're on the topic, I'll add that it has felt good to get to hold Jian again lately. It'll be nice to be able to go back to see her after her mom leaves, when we won't have to hold back so much.

We took a look at some of the movies playing at the Bytowne Cinema in the coming weeks; and I think that we'll be checking something out soon.

I've decided that I really like having the computer in my room. It's cool being able to start working on a journal entry and turn around and put on the Dirty Three. Not too shabby.

J.

[prev] -120- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]