Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-12-13 - 2:06

Done to us again

Looks like somebody forgot about us
Standing on the corner, waiting for a bus

Okay, so my brief attempt at getting back on an early schedule met with a quick death. Ehh, I'll just stay late for the rest of the year. I'm enjoying my recent late night routine, anyway.

Today was not my best day for transportation. Last night's storm dropped quite a bit of snow on the city; and apparently the bus system wasn't up for the challenge. For starters, my morning bus simply didn't arrive. Normally, if I'm taking the bus, I go out five minutes early. Today, because the bus didn't show up, I had to add thirty minutes to that time; and I think that the total actually worked out closer to forty-five, since that bus was late. Grumble.

Work was pretty low-key, since a few people didn't make it in today. Actually, it was the exact opposite of what I would have expected: the crazy hard workers stayed home and the slackers came in. Odd. Of course, it didn't much matter to me, since I had enough to do by myself; but it was still a quiet day.

Then on the way home, not only did one bus not arrive, neither did the next, so I ended up waiting about an hour and fifteen minutes. Grumble, grumble. In the words of the ODB, "I didn't get burned one time; I got burned actually two times, if you really look at it." Ah well . . . how much can you expect for a buck-sixty?

So, not too much has been on the go lately. I guess that the main theme lately is a sense that the end of this term is fast approaching. (And yeah, even though I've been done school for a year, I still think of time as a series of four-month terms, because that's when people move out.)

Tomorrow is Mandeep's last day, unless he comes in for a couple of hours before his flight on Thursday. That's pretty crazy. Hell, I'll be back home a week from Friday, which still hasn't sunk in. I'd say it's definitely time to buy Christmas gifts for a few people.

J.

[prev] -149- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]